Skip to main content

RETSD Patrols Honoured by WPS

The Winnipeg Police Service has announced the school safety patrol award recipients for the 2022–23 school year. Every year the patrols are judged on their ability, professionalism, and technique while on patrol by the School Education Section of the WPS.

Winnipeg’s top school patrol captain is awarded the Louise Staples Award. Ms. Staples was a teacher at Greenway School and instrumental in starting the patrol program in Winnipeg. The recipient of the 2023 Louise Staples Award is... Ella Deathe from John de Graff School! Congratulations, Ella.

Congratulations, as well, to the Polson School patrols who were awarded first place in RETSD, the second-place team from John Pritchard School, and the third-place team from Harold Hatcher School.

The WPS has been involved in the School Safety Patrol Program since 1936. Winnipeg is proud to have had the first fully organized and officially recognized school patrol program in Canada.

image description
Back to top